Basque Music Roundup

I asked readers for their suggestions of Basque bands and musicians to check out. Here are a few of the favorites they named. I hope you can find at least one you like!

*Disclaimer: I do not speak Basque or Spanish, therefore I cannot and do not endorse any of the messages within these bands’ lyrics.*

Sustraia – Rock, from Hélette

The internet tells me this band is rock, but they sound pretty ska to me. What is with Basque people loving their ska?

Betagarri – Ska, from Vitoria-Gasteiz

I will never be able to drill out the memory of a bunch of middle-aged Basque Americans going nuts on the dance floor over this band at Basque Rock Live. These guys are crowd pleasers.

Kortatu – Ska, from Irun

Ska music usually annoys me to no end (it’s something about the trumpets…), but I’ve heard this song so many times that I kind of love it. There are some great memories attached to it.

Eskorbuto – Punk, from Santurtzi (Greater Bilbao)

Love the punk sound on this one.

Soziedad Alkoholika – Crossover Thrash, from Vitoria-Gasteiz

From what I read on Wikipedia about their controversial lyrics, I’m not a huge fan of this band. But some of you might like their sound.

BONUS! Félicien’s Cum-Cum Mania

Okay, okay, so this guy isn’t Basque. He’s from the Béarn, right next door. But this song absolutely cracks me up.

One year when I went to visit the Basque Country, this song was THE song, all over the radio, everyone singing along. If you speak French, the lyrics are quite amusing. Enjoy!

 

 

9 comments on “Basque Music Roundup

  1. labergere says:

    ONE of the best bands out there currently very, very hot is Kalaka. They were back up for Madonna on her last tour. I am NOT a Madonna fan, but this band is awesome.

  2. Kaixo! One of the most important bands of all modern Basque music is Hertzainak, originally forming in Gasteiz with members from different parts of Basque Country, including Legazpi. They were active from the early 80’s to the mid 90’s. Their sound combines contemporary rock with reggae, ska and even Caribbean sounds and rhythms. They occasionally worked traditional Trikitixa music into their sound as well. Their musicianship and songwriting talent have made them immortals in Basque music history. All albums were monumental; my personal favorite is “Salda Badago” (1988).

  3. Also check out Deskontrol and Arkada Social, two heavy-punk bands from Arrasate. Also, La Polla Records = classic stuff. And then there are the singer-songwriters from the 60’s, like Mikel Laboa, Benito Lertxundi, Xabier Lete and others.

  4. nineu says:

    The last basque music (not only rock and ska) here: http://euskalmusik.blogspot.com.es/

Leave a Reply

